|
|
|
|
|
|
|
A registered company in England & Wales No 3532959 VAT No: 741 5151 58 | ||
|
BEWARE
mailings from a company called DROE or
DROA or DROC or any letter with
the words Domain Registry or
Domains of America at the top
left hand corner of the envelope please extreme take care as it could
mean trouble...
|
|
A very important notice to all our clients - Please read carefully And anyone else who receives a letter from DROA or DROE or Domain Registry/Domains of America. WE STRONGLY
ADVISE YOU DESTROY ALL UNSOLICITED MAIL REGARDING YOUR DOMAIN - UNLESS YOU RECOGNISE THE SENDER AS YOUR GENUINE DOMAIN REGISTRAR or HOST The companies mentioned above are actively involved with the much maligned practice known as domain slamming, and having mislead 50,000 customers the parent company FAX.COM was also fined $5.4 million. In 2002 a US court found them guilty & again in 2003 for misleading practices which, unfortunately misleading letters regarding domains not registered by them have not stopped. Further more, the company are not ICANN accredited registrars Google is full of warnings regarding the company trading under several different names & I have personally seen DROA DROE DROC being used. We expect them to change tactics & have seen letters with the words Domain Registry & Domains of America on the envelope when the company has NOTHING to do with the particular domains registration or hosting what so ever. See ASA Slams DROE its my opinion they havnt taken any notice as letters continue to be received by clients. DROE state that the letters are not a bill, however the letters Ive personally seen provide a strong impression that action is required or the domain name may be lost if not reregistered using their service. Its my opinion that sending such letters requesting re-registration to owners of domains by a third party company (or anything from anyone other than the current host or registrar) with this type of approach is very mis leading. By the process of 'scraping' WHOIS records for use in this maner, any company or individual is abusing the terms and conditions of the WHOIS service. Its my opinion that WHOIS records should show to much information and ICANN need to take action. Having obtained the data they send out a very official looking letter containing your domain information along with a registry fee & return. However... The letter, gives the impression DROE are the current registrars - quite often this may not be the case FACT: Every letter I have recieved from DROE/DROA requesting re-registration - DROE/DROA ARE NOT THE REGISTRAR A sample letter (DROA) is shown here & another here & the company operate the same slamming scam under several names: Domain Registry
of America - DROA Domain Registry
of Europe - DROE Domain Registry
of Canada - DROC Domains of America The danger to your domain name and web site is if this letter is actioned & returned without checking, in the small print you will have provided authority to transfer your domain to DROA & the following may occur:
WE
STRONGLY ADVISE YOU DESTROY ALL UNSOLICITED MAIL REGARDING YOUR DOMAIN
- UNLESS YOU RECOGNISE THE SENDER AS YOUR GENUINIE DOMAIN REGISTRAR or HOST If you wish to take action, file a complaint with the FTC Federal Trade Commission - here Should you require assistance or clarification please contact us or your current domain host If you really do want to transfer your domain elsewhere then please contact us FIRST! We will ensure your domain is transferred to your new host & the changeover takes place as smoothly as possible with maximum availability of the hosted services We are not associated with DROA DROE DROC and will always act in the best interests of our customers further more, our fees also cover both domain registration AND hosting |